what comes after the age of aquarius

This post is for all you yogis constantly thinking about what’s coming next: Breakfast after yoga, work after breakfast, the week after this one, next year’s vacation, next lifetime’s bills to pay…LOL 😉 Yogis are always in the present moment, right?! Today, we’ll look at what comes after the age of aquarius for all of you trendspotters out there. 

Right now, we’re experiencing the very beginning of the Age of Aquarius, a once in TWO MILLENIA phenomenon. And you thought living through the year 2000 was an achievement! 😏

During the Age of Aquarius, we experience new beginnings, establish new systems, and speak our truth. But… what comes next? You guessed it. A new age will start; The Age of Capricorn. This is everything you need to know about it.

What Comes After The Age of Aquarius? 

According to astrology, we’re currently transitioning into the Age of Aquarius. Once the Aquarian Age comes to an end, we will transition once more, this time into the Age of Capricorn.

While the dates are a bit fuzzy, the Age of Capricorn is expected to kick off around 3,500 to 4,000 AD (circle the dates LOL!!). While the Age of Aquarius pushes humans to focus on more than just themselves, the energy of Capricorn will bring another shift to society.

If we’re getting way ahead here and you’re still figuring out how to deal with today, try the 7 Aquarian Mantras for some peace of mind. They are a powerful way to tune in to this present moment of transformation.

The Trouble With Measuring Astrological Ages

Astrologers use a few different methods to measure astrological ages. One common way is to look at our solar system and how long it takes to circumnavigate our galaxy (roughly 25,000 years). This cycle is then divided into twelve equally long astrological ages (approx. 2,100 years), which correspond to the twelve zodiac signs.

In the Age of Aquarius, the zodiac constellation behind the sun during the vernal equinox is in the sign of Aquarius. When this background constellation changes to Capricorn, this signals the shift from the Age of Aquarius to the Age of Capricorn,. But this is not a matter of one night the stars are this and the next one that. It happens over a transition period of several hundred years.

So you can probably see why there is no definite answer as to when one Age begins and the other ends. Because each Age is so long, it’s difficult to measure them precisely.

The Age of Capricorn Is Coming 

Astrology tells us that each zodiac (or sun) sign reveals a person’s true nature. We are assigned a zodiac sign at birth, depending on which one the sun is positioned in, and this sign stays the same for the rest of our lives. Each of the twelve zodiac signs represents certain characteristics, which you may have encountered in yourself and those around you.

The Age of Aquarius brings a strong sense of community and hope, according to the traits of Aquarius. Capricorn, on the other hand, is often associated with big picture thinking and a goal-driven mindset, sometimes isolating in order to achieve. If we were alive to experience the Age of Capricorn, it would be a very interesting shift to experience, don’t you think? It’s like a bunch of free spirits, adventurers, and loving friends (Aquarian characteristics) shift roles and become big business leaders and goal-oriented individuals (Capricorn characteristics) when we move into this new era.

The Age of Capricorn at a Glance 

Ruling Planet: Saturn
Element:  Earth
Symbol:  ♑︎  sea goat

Qualities of The Age of Capricorn

Hard work, the desire to do well, and making dreams come true are quite typical for the sun sign Capricorn. Repressing emotions in order to move on is typical for Capricorns. They love taking on responsibility and striving for success. They are also said to be “old souls”, possessing  wisdom beyond their years like a sensible adult in a kid’s body. If they do wrong, they will try hard to make it right.

A person with this zodiac sign can come across as holding much wisdom and sticking to tradition – the tried and true, so to speak! While the Age of Aquarius is characterized by the free spirit vibe, the Age of Capricorn will most likely make folks more grounded.

I like to imagine this present Aquarian time as a period of exploration and adventuring, trying things out in order to get rid of the old stuff that’s not working any more. Moving into the Capricorn future, we arrive at “So, what now?”. As if we were reflecting on our experiences and feelings after a long retreat to use our passions in the right way and make things happen.

age of capricorn earth sign

Elemental Transformation: Air to Earth

In astrology, there are four elements that each correspond to three zodiac signs:

  • Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
  • Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
  • Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
  • Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

We are currently transitioning from the Water to Air element (i.e. Pisces to Aquarius). Moving into the sign Capricorn will shift us into the Earth element. What does that mean?

Just think about it: Earth is associated with the resources that we need for life. It connects us to our first chakra needs and the tangible world. Air is grounded in the heart chakra, governing breath and giving us the ability to express ourselves and connect with one another. While the Air element enables the free flowing, new-ideas-exploration-mode, the Earth element focuses energy on security and stability. 

This elemental shift may reflect a focus back on material wealth. Earth signs are all about quality over quantity and choosing relationships wisely, however, so the Age of Capricorn is sure to be unlike anything we’ve seen before.

Next Steps

kundalini ytt
Get 3 Free Training Vidoes from our Kundalini University Experience & Certification Program


Get 3 Free Training Vidoes from our Kundalini University Experience & Certification Program